Official website of Verbier/Val de Bagnes Tourism
Tour des Combins-19219
/ /
Itinéraire - Randonnée pédestre

Tour des Combins

Straddled between Switzerland and Italy, the Tour des Combins (TDC) offers six days of alpine hiking around the Combins massif which stands at an altitude of 4,314 metres. The proposed route provides a setting with many contrasts, close to the high mountains.
 
Good physical stamina is needed to tackle this strenuous and challenging trail. It will let you discover extraordinary landscapes – from the Brunet mountain hut to the Great Saint-Bernard Pass, you’ll enjoy the thrill of reaching an altitude of 3,000 metres and will cross five valleys that straddle Switzerland and Italy.
 
ROUTES AND ACCOMMODATION: 
 
BOURG-ST-PIERRE
Bourg-St-Pierre is the largest village that the TDC passes through. Its Saint-Charles bridge (Charlemagne), ancient steeple, milestone (Roman perioéd) and extremely well-preserved old houses are well worth a visit before heading off into the mountains.
Passing the chapel at Lorette, le Creux du Mâ, Boveire d’en bas, le Coeur and Erra, the trail crosses alpine pastures and is relatively easy, allowing hikers to enjoy views of the full length of the Entremont Valley.
At Col de Mille – at the end of this first stage – there is an excellent hut with 59 beds which opened in 2015. The incredible panorama will astound you.
Distance: 12 km
Time required: 4 hours and 30 minutes
Altitude difference: +1100m / -250m 
 
THE COL DE MILLE HUT
Passing through the Col de Mille, you enter the territory of the municipality of Bagnes, which is one of the largest in Switzerland (282 km2). Straight in front of you to the north, the resort of Verbier stretches right to the foot of Pierre Avoi. The TDC trails gradually heads north-east to reach La Treutse, standing at an altitude of 2,092 metres, after about an hour. There is an unobstructed view of almost all the villages that make up this municipality with a population of 7,800. Heading east, the path lined with blueberry bushes and arolla pines takes you to the Brunet hut.
Distance: 7.6 km
Time required: 2 hours 30 minutes
Altitude difference: +300m / -670m
 
BRUNET HUT
Heading south-east, the path – sometimes climbing, sometimes descending – leads you to the Sery walkway built over a narrow gorge and “la Maye” is then easily reached. A steep zigzagging climb takes you to the 200-long walkway crossing the Corbassière glacier and stream. You then arrive at the FXB hut in Panossière after just under an hour on an easy path.
Distance: 7.4 km
Time required: 3 hours 15 minutes
Altitude difference: +820m / -290m
 
ALTERNATIVE ROUTE FOR THE PANOSSIÈRE HUT
The Panossière hut can be reached passing through the Col des Avouillons.
Distance: 7.5 km
Time required: 3 hours 40 minutes 
Altitude difference: +940m / -400m
 
PANOSSIÈRE
After passing along the moraine on the left side of the Corbassière glacier, there is a short but steep climb to Col des Otanes which, at an altitude of 2,870 metres, is the highest point on the TDC. There is a fascinating panorama here in this cirque of rock and ice where the Grand-Combin overlooks the magnificence of one of the most beautiful parts of the Alps. After descending for an hour you come to La Tseumette. On this grassy verge you can marvel at the peaks of Mont-Pleureur and La Ruinette. The imposing 250-metre-high concrete wall of Europe’s highest arch dam can be seen at the bottom of the valley. The descent continues to Mauvoisin.
Distance: 6.4 km
Time required: 3 hours 45 minutes
Altitude difference: +270m / -1060m
 
MAUVOISIN
The trail leads to the dam which you cross and a good path takes you to the “Ecuries du Giétro”, which are heritage-protected buildings, and you then cross the picturesque Tsofeirë plateau to finally reach the Chanrion hut.
Distance: 10.6 km
Time required: 3 hours 50 minutes
Altitude difference: +905m / -290m
 
CHANRION
The Panossière – Chanrion alternative route. From Pazagnou you continue on the left bank passing through Les Rosses, La Tsessette and Le Lancet.
Distance: 17.6 km
Time required: 7 hours 45 minutes
Altitude difference: +1460m / -1630m
 
Setting out from Chanrion, you pick up the next section of the route, heading down the gently undulating hills of the mountain pastures until you arrive at the Grand Charmotane bridge which you cross. After an initial climb, which is quite steep, the slope gradually becomes gentler passing sometimes grassy, sometimes rocky parts until an easy path takes you to the Col de Fenêtre (Fenêtre de Durand). You now turn your back on the Upper Val de Bagnes and Valais and will see the lush alpine pastures of Ollomont in front of you. In the distance to the west, you will see the Col de Champillon which you will pass through on the next stage.
From the Col Fenêtre de Durand, the well-marked path firstly passes over scree before entering a section strewn with large rocks before eventually reaching the mountain pastures of Thoules. The trail follows the alpine pasture route as far as Lombardin and a few metres further on drops down into the grasslands before reaching the alpine pasture of Balme de Bal. From Balme de Bal, the TDC trail continues along the alpine pasture route as far as the bottom of Conca di By where it leaves it to follow the path ascending to Ru de By. The trail follows Ru de By heading south and passing through alpine pastures to reach Néan. From Néan the trail leaves the Ru de By heading up to the alpine pasture of Pessinoille and then onto Tsa de Champillon from where it takes you to the Letey à Champillon hut.
On the section between the alpine pasture of Balme and Néan, the following places can be reached:
Ollomont: 1 hour 30 minutes
Doues: 1 hour 40 minutes
Allein: 2 hours 30 minutes
Altitude difference: +1095m / -1120m
Distance: 19.8 km
Time required: 8 hours 20 minutesé
 
CHAMPILLON HUT
From the Letey à Champillon hut, the path climbs the rather steep slope leading to the Col de Champillon.
It then descends the length of the valley before arriving at a small building in ruins. It heads right to drop down towards the Menouve Valley passing alongside the ruins in the Pontier damon mountain pasture before reaching the Pointier desot mountain.
From the Pointier desot alpine pasture, the trail heads right following the alpine pasture route before joining another path. Head right and then turn left after around 300 metres until you reach the alpine pasture at Combe Germain. Here a path on the right climbs up to Ru d’Eternod. Bear left in a southerly direction through a beautiful forest of larches and you will arrive at  Montagne de Barasson. From Montagne de Barasson a path leads to the forest trail which drops down to Saint-Rhémy de Pointier. The villages of Etroubles and St-Oyen can be reached in 1 hour 40 minutes.
Difference in altitude: +460m / -1250m
Distance: 15 km
Time required: 5 hours 30 minutes
 
SAINT-RHEMY
At Saint-Rhemy, the TDC crosses the main road in the village. Heading out of the village, a short section passes along the road for motor vehicles from the Col du Gd St-Bernard leading to a path on the right which climbs to the former hospital building in Cantine de Fonteinte.
From Cantine de Fonteinte, the trail crosses the road twice before continuing through the pastures.
After crossing the road for a final time, you reach the Col du Gd St-Bernard passing through the Plan de Jupiter.
Distance: 6.3 km
Time required: 2 hours 50 minutes
Altitude difference: +870 / -30
 
COL DU GD ST-BERNARD
After leaving the pass, the trail drops down into the Combe des Morts and passes through Hospitalet. After the alpine pasture in La Pierre (vaulted barn dating to 1707), the achievements of the modern era become apparent with the start of the road tunnel and the Toules dam on the left side of which you pass along. Bourg-Saint-Pierre, the final destination on this stage of the Tour des Combins, is now very near.
Distance: 12 km
Time required: 4 hours 10 minutes
Altitude difference: +200 / -1045 
 
BOURG-ST-PIERRE
The end of the hike


Leaflet to download here.
 

Tour des Combins-19219
Characteristics
Duration 47h00
Ascension 6145 m
Descent 6145 m
Highest point 2846
Level Difficult


Verbier Tourist Office
Route de Verbier Station 61
1936 Verbier
+41 27 775 38 88 | info@verbier.ch
Opening Hours:
Monday to Sunday
8 am - 12 pm / 1 pm - 5.30 pm

Site officiel de l'office du tourisme de Verbier/Val de Bagnes
Tour des Combins-19219
Itinéraire - Randonnée pédestre

Tour des Combins

Die Tour des Combins verspricht sechs Wandertage in den Alpen rund um das Combin-Massiv (4314 Meter) auf beiden Seiten der Grenze zwischen der Schweiz und Italien! Die vorgeschlagene Route führt durch kontrastreiche Landschaften in der Nähe des Hochgebirges.

Diese sportliche und anspruchsvolle Tour erfordert eine gute Ausdauer. Entdecken Sie atemberaubende Landschaften, wenn Sie sich von der Brunet-Hütte auf dem Grossen Sankt-Bernhard-Pass mehreren Dreitausendern nähern und fünf Täler zwischen der Schweiz und Italien durchqueren.

ROUTEN UND UNTERKÜNFTE 

BOURG-SAINT-PIERRE
Bourg-Saint-Pierre ist das bedeutendste Städtchen auf der Tour des Combins (TDC). Seine Brücke Saint-Charles (Charlemagne), sein antiker Kirchturm, sein römischer Meilenstein und seine sehr gut erhaltenen, alten Häuser sind einen Besuch wert, bevor es weiter in die Höhe geht.
Der Weg, der über Weiden vorbei an der Loretto-Kapelle, Le Creux du Mâ, Boveire d’en Bas, Le Coeur und Erra führt, ist wenig anspruchsvoll und gibt den Wanderern die Möglichkeit, das Val d’Entremont in seiner ganzen Länge zu betrachten.
Am Ende dieser ersten Etappe erwartet Sie am Col de Mille eine schöne bewartete Hütte mit 59 Plätzen, die 2015 eröffnet worden ist. Das einzigartige Panorama wird Sie garantiert begeistern.
Distanz: 12 km
Dauer: 4 Stunden 30 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +1100 m / –250 m

MILLE-HÜTTE
Nach dem Col de Mille erreichen Sie das Gebiet der Gemeinde Bagnes, die mit 282 Quadratkilometer zu den grössten Gemeinden der Schweiz zählt. Direkt vor Ihnen erstreckt sich im Norden der Ferienort Verbier bis zum Fusse des Pierre Avoi. Die Strecke der TDC verläuft allmählich nach Nordosten und erreicht nach ungefähr einer Stunde La Treutse (2092 Meter), wo Sie eine unvergleichliche Aussicht auf fast alle Dörfer dieser Gemeinde mit 7800 Einwohnern erwartet. Anschliessend führt der Weg weiter nach Osten durch Heidelbeersträucher und Arvenwälder bis zur Brunet-Hütte.
Distanz: 7,6 km
Dauer: 2 Stunden 30 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +300 m / –670 m

BRUNET-HÜTTE
Von hier führt der Weg in südöstlicher Richtung mal bergauf und mal bergab bis zur Hängebrücke von Sery, die über einer engen Schlucht liegt, und danach ohne grosse Schwierigkeiten weiter zum Ort La Maye. Über einen steilen Aufstieg im Zickzack erreichen Sie die knapp 200 Meter lange Hängebrücke, die den Fluss und den Corbassière-Gletscher überspannt. Über einen einfachen Pfad gelangen Sie nach etwas weniger als einer Stunde zur FXB Panossière-Hütte.
Distanz: 7,4 km
Dauer: 3 Stunden 15 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +820 m / –290 m

VARIANTE ÜBER DIE PANOSSIÈRE-HÜTTE
Die Panossière-Hütte ist auch über den Col des Avouillons erreichbar.
Distanz: 7,5 km
Dauer: 3 Stunden 40 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +940 m / –400 m

PANOSSIÈRE
Sie gehen entlang der Moräne rechts am Corbassière-Gletscher vorbei und beginnen den steilen Aufstieg zum Col des Otanes, dem höchsten Punkt der TDC auf 2870 Meter. Umringt von Fels und Eis finden Sie hier, wo der Grand Combin eine der schönsten Gegenden der Alpen überragt, ein faszinierendes Panorama vor. Der Abstieg nach La Tseumette dauert eine Stunde. Vom Rande dieses grasbewachsenen Gebirgssattels aus können die Gipfel des Mont-Pleureur und von La Ruinette bewundert werden. Im Talgrund angekommen, ist die imposante 250 Meter hohe Betonmauer des höchsten Bogenstaudamms Europas sichtbar. Danach geht es weiter hinunter bis nach Mauvoisin.
Distanz: 6,4 km
Dauer: 3 Stunden 45 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +270 m / –1060 m

MAUVOISIN
Sie folgen der Strasse und überqueren den Staudamm. Ein gut begehbarer Pfad führt Sie zu den Écuries du Giétro, die unter Denkmalschutz stehen. Danach durchqueren Sie das malerische Plateau von Tsofeiret und erreichen schliesslich die Chanrion-Hütte.
Distanz: 10,6 km
Dauer: 3 Stunden 50 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +905 m / –290 m

CHANRION
Variante Panossière – Beim Ort «Pazagnou» können Sie auf der linken Seite weiter über Les Rosses, La Tsessette und Le Lancet gehen.
Distanz: 17,6 km
Dauer: 7 Stunden 45 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +1460 m / –1630 m

Von Chanrion aus erahnen Sie den Rest der Route und gelangen über sanft geschwungene Bergkämme und Wiesen hinunter zur Brücke von Grand Charmotane, die Sie überqueren. Nach einem ersten ziemlich steilen Anstieg wird der Hang allmählich sanfter und ein bequemer Pfad führt Sie durch halb mit Gras überwachsene, halb mit Steinen übersäte Gegenden zum Col de Fenêtre (Fenêtre de Durand). Hier kehren Sie dem Haut Val de Bagnes und dem Wallis den Rücken. Vor Ihnen befinden sich die grünen Weiden der Alpen von Ollomont. Weit weg im Westen sehen Sie den Col de Champillon, den Sie in der nächsten Etappe bezwingen werden.
Vom Col de Fenêtre de Durand führt der gut markierte Weg zuerst über ein Geröllfeld und dann in eine mit grossen Felsblöcken übersäte Gegend, bevor Sie die Weiden von Thoules erreichen. Anschliessend folgt die Strecke der Alpstrasse bis nach Lombardin und steigt einige Meter weiter über die Weiden hinab zur Alp Balme de Bal. Von der Alp Balme de Bal führt die Route der TDC weiter auf der Alpstrasse bis zum Fusse des Conca di By. Dort verlassen Sie die Strasse und folgen dem Weg hinauf bis zur Ru de By. Die Route folgt der Ru de By in südlicher Richtung über die Bergwiesen bis nach Néan. Von Néan aus führt der Weg von der Ru de By weg hin zur Alp Pessinoille und anschliessend zur Tsa de Champillon. In Champillon erreichen Sie die Letey-Hütte.
Auf dem Weg zwischen den Alpen von Balme und Néan können auch folgende Orte erreicht werden:
Ollomont: 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
Doues: 1 Stunde 40 Minuten
Allein: 2 Stunden 30 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +1095 m / –1120 m
Distanz: 19,8 km
Dauer: 8 Stunden 20 Minuten

LETEY-HÜTTE IN CHAMPILLON
Von der Letey-Hütte in Champillon führt der Weg einen ziemlich steilen Hang hinauf bis zum Col de Champillon.
Anschliessend geht es hinunter ins Tal zu einer kleinen Ruine. Von dort aus gehen Sie rechts hinunter in Richtung Menouve-Tal, vorbei an den Ruinen der Alp Pontier Damon bis zum Berg Pointier-Desot.
Von der Alp Pointier-Desot folgt die Route der Alpstrasse nach rechts und trifft auf eine andere Strasse. Diese führt weiter nach rechts, bis sie nach etwa 300 Meter links zur Alp Combe Germain abbiegt. Auf der rechten Seite führt ein Weg hinauf zur Ru d’Eternod. Danach geht es links (Richtung Süden) durch einen schönen Lärchenwald zum Berg Barasson. Hier erreicht die Route einen Waldweg, der hinunter nach Saint-Rhémy führt. Von dort aus sind die Ortschaften Étroubles und Saint Oyen in einer Stunde und 40 Minuten erreichbar.
Höhenunterschied: +460m / -1250m
Distanz: 15 km
Dauer: 5 Stunden 30 Minuten

SAINT-RHÉMY
In Saint-Rhémy führt die Strecke der TDC entlang der Hauptstrasse des Ortes. Am Ausgang des Dorfes verläuft die Route auf einem kurzen Wegstück längs der Autostrasse des Grossen Sankt Bernhards, bevor sie rechts den Weg erreicht, der hinauf zum ehemaligen Hospiz Cantine de Fonteinte führt.
Nach dem Cantine de Fonteinte überquert der Weg zwei Mal die Strasse und führt anschliessend weiter über Weiden.
Nachdem Sie die Strasse ein letztes Mal überquert haben, erreichen Sie über den Plan de Jupiter den Grossen Stankt Bernhard.
Distanz: 6,3 km
Dauer: 2 Stunden 50 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +870 m / –30 m

GROSSER SANKT BERNHARD
Vom Pass des Grossen Sankt Bernhards führt der Weg in die Combe des Morts und am Hospitalet vorbei. Nach der Alp La Pierre (Gewölbestall aus dem Jahr 1707) erwartet Sie mit dem Beginn des Strassentunnels und dem Staudamm von Les Toules, den Sie links passieren, die Errungenschaften der Moderne. Bourg-Saint-Pierre, das Ende dieser Etappe und der Tour des Combins, ist jetzt ganz nah.
Distanz: 12 km
Dauer: 4 Stunden 10 Minuten
Höhenunterschied: +200 m / –1045 m

BOURG-SAINT-PIERRE
Ende der Wanderung


 

Tour des Combins-19219
Merkmale
Dauer 47h00
Besteigung 6145 m
Abstieg 6145 m
Der höchste Punkt 2846
Ebene Schwer


Tourismusbüro von Verbier
Place centrale 2
1936 Verbier
+41 27 775 38 88 | info@verbier.ch
Öffnungszeiten :
08:30 - 18:00

Ab 21.08
08:30 - 12:00 / 13:00 - 18:00