Site officiel de l'office du tourisme de Verbier/Val de Bagnes
the 17 June 2017

Olaf Bruening Verbier 3D Artist-in-Residence 2017

Vernissage and Panel Discussion : 17th June 2017


The Verbier 3-D Foundation is pleased to announce that we will be working with Swiss artist Olaf Breuning for our 2017 Artist Residency. The artist will come to Verbier, Switzerland to develop new work whilst considering the theme of Migration in the wake of climate change.



This year is a continuation of a 4-year initiative launched in 2016 by the Verbier 3-D Foundation that units artists, locals and scientists to chronicle the impact of the surrounding glacial environment in Banges, Switzerland. Their insights are captured in photography, sculpture and multi-media residencies, alongside research, exhibitions and public education programmes.

The contemporary understanding of climate and glacier awareness and its global increase have clearly shown how human behaviour in one geographical region can affect life in another, how individuals can impact upon other human beings’ living conditions, how certain populations’ lifestyle affects the environment, and how changes in the natural world conversely can induce migration and societal changes. 

Utilising the lens of art, the Verbier 3-D Foundation aims to create a dialogue and awareness around the themes of glacier warming and societal behaviours on a local that extends outwards. The residencies support new work by visual artists who, in their individual approaches, are interested in these conversations. The work is later exhibited in the Verbier 3-D Sculpture Park.

Olaf Breuning : Migrations
18 June 2017 - 18 June 2018

For detailed information, please visit 
www.3-dfoundation.com
 

About Olaf Breuning


Olaf Breuning is a multi-media artist whose works investigate kitsch, appropriation, cliché, popular culture, and hint at a collective visual iconography. Breuning’s unique mode of pastiche is eclectic by design, drawing icons from sources both high and low, Edvard Munch to Andy Warhol’s Marilyns to the Easter Bunny.

He is internationally known for his work that is humorous and often absurd, based on his observations of human experience and reflections on current cultural and political issues. Gleefully trampling traditional boundaries of artistic practice, Breuning works with photography, sculpture, installation and performance, films and drawing to realise and communicate his ideas.

Swiss, b. 1970, Schaffhausen, Switzerland, based in New York, NY and Zurich, Switzerland.


www.olafbreuing.com







In Search of Frankenstein by Chloe Dewe Mathews

Publication

In 2016, we invited British photographer Chloe Dewe Mathews to participate in the first year of our artist residency programme surrounding the issues of climate change and glacier activity. Immersing herself within an environment consisting of glaciers and underground nuclear shelters – as well as reading Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein (1818) – she created a new body of photographic work which explores the contemporary relevance of Shelley’s novel in relation to the current era of the Anthropocene period.

The Verbier 3-D Foundation continues to work with Dewe Mathews developing the publication, In Search of Frankenstein, that further engages with the work the artist made during the residency, visualising the opposing environments that coexist under the influence of climate change and technological advance in Switzerland.

The publication is to be released in 2017.




The 3-D Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to creating contemporary art to promote environmentalism, education, and culture to local and international audiences. Founded in 2010 by New York-based artist Madeleine Paternot and Verbier-based artist Kiki Thompson, the foundation creates educational and cultural work inspired by the stunning Alpine environment of Verbier, Switzerland at an altitude of 2,300 meters between La Chaux and Ruinettes. More than one million visitors to Verbier can access the park for free year round.

The Sculpture Park and Artist Residency create a space for artists and experimentation to meet on the mountain in which the artists’ practices are challenged to create cutting-edge contemporary art in relation to place.

The Residency also keeps an open-door policy, so the public is able to see the work in progress. This approach demystifies the making of art and creates a more intimate and informed experience for the viewer.

The power of art is its ability to articulate human emotions and values such as beauty and truth. On the mountain, faced with such sublime vistas, the visitor can experience these works of art…completely removed from the gallery or museum, directly confronting the truth of nature. This is the true meaning of a museum without walls.
– Paul Goodwin, Verbier 3-D Curator
 
This initiative acts as an integrated creative hub and a vital part of the cultural resurgence of Verbier, Switzerland.
 

Tourist Office Of Verbier
Place centrale 2
1936 Verbier
+41 27 775 38 88 | info@verbier.ch
Opening Hours:
From May 1st
8am–12pm / 1pm–5:30pm

Site officiel de l'office du tourisme de Verbier/Val de Bagnes
Le 17 juin 2017

Olaf Breuning Artiste en résidence - Verbier 2017

Vernissage : le 17 juin 2017


La Fondation Verbier 3-D a le plaisir d’annoncer qu’Olaf Breuning sera notre artiste en résidence pour 2017. L’artiste voyagera à Verbier pour développer une nouvelle œuvre qui considère le thème de la migration dans le sillage de changement climatique.


 
Cette année continue une initiative de quatre ans lancée en 2016 par la fondation Verbier 3-D qui réunit des artistes, des scientifiques et des résidents de Bagnes pour chroniquer l’impacte de l’environnement sur les glaciers de la région. Leurs idées ont été capturées par la photographie, la sculpture et les œuvres multimédia, à côté de la recherche, des expositions et des programmes de la médiation culturelle.
 
La compréhension contemporaine du climat et de la sensibilisation aux glaciers ainsi que sa croissance globale montre clairement comment le comportement humain d’une région puisse affecter la vie dans une autre, comment les individus puissent impacter sur les conditions de vie des autres êtres humains, à quel point est-ce que la mode de vie des populations affecte l’environnement et comment les changements dans le monde naturel, à l’inverse, puissent provoquer la migration et les changements de société.
 
En utilisant l’objectif de l’art, la Fondation Verbier 3-D vise à créer un dialogue et une sensibilisation autour des thèmes du réchauffement des glaciers et des comportements sociétaux sur le plan local qui s’étend vers l’extérieur.  Les résidences artistiques inspirent les nouvelles œuvres des plasticiens qui, dans leurs propres approches, sont intéressées par ces conversations. Les œuvres seront exposées dans le parc de sculpture Verbier 3-D.
 
Olaf Breuning : Save The Climate! - 18 juin 2017 - 18 juin 2018

www.3-dfoundation.com
 

Olaf Breuning


Olaf Breuning est un artiste multimédia dont les travaux étudient le kitsch, l’appropriation, le cliché, la culture populaire, et un collectif d’iconographie visuelle. La façon unique d’interpréter le pastiche de Breuning est éclectique par sa création, le dessin des icônes à partir des sources à la fois haute et basse, Edvard Munch à Marilyn’s d’Andy Warhol au lapin de pâques. 
 
Il est connu sur le plan international pour son travail qui est humoristique et souvent absurde, basé sur ses observations de l’expérience humaine et ses réflexions sur les questions culturelles et politiques actuelles. Les œuvres de Breuning écrasent avec joie les limites traditionnelles de la pratique artistique avec la photographie, la sculpture, l’installation, la performance, les films et le dessin pour communiquer ses idées.
 
Suisse, né 1970, Schaffhausen, Suisse, habite à New York, USA et Zürich, Suisse.

www.olafbreuning.com







A la rechercher de Frankenstein par Chloe Dewe Mathews


PublicationEn 2016, nous avons invité la photographe britannique Chloe Dewe Mathews à participer à la première année de notre programme de résidences artistiques qui touchent les problèmes du changement climatique et du réchauffement des glaciers. S’immerger dans un environnement composé de glaciers et d’abris nucléaires souterrains - tout en lisant le roman de Mary Shelley Frankenstein (1818) – elle a créé une nouvelle gamme de travail photographique qui recherche la pertinence contemporaine du roman de Shelley en relation avec l’ère actuelle de la période Anthropocène.
 
La Fondation Verbier 3-D continue à travailler avec Dewe Mathews pour développer une publication, In Search of Frankenstein, qui va développer en profondeur le travail effectué par l’artiste pendant la résidence, visualisant les environnements opposés qui coexistent sous l’influence du changement climatique et du progrès technologique en suisse.
 
La publication sera publiée en 2017.




La Fondation 3-D est une organisation à but non lucratif dédiée à la création de l’art contemporain qui promeut l’environnementalisme, l’éducation et la culture à la communauté locale et internationale. Fondé en 2010 par l’artiste domiciliée à New-York, Madeleine Paternot et l’artiste domiciliée à Verbier, Kiki Thompson, la fondation crée des œuvres éducatives et culturelles inspirées par le magnifique environnement alpin de Verbier, en suisse, à une altitude de 2300 mètres entre la Chaux et les Ruinettes. Plus d’un million de visiteurs à Verbier peuvent accéder gratuitement au parc à l’année.
 
Le parc de sculpture et la résidence artistique créent un endroit où l’art et l’expérimentation se rencontrent en montagne où les pratiques artistiques sont mises au défi et développées pour créer l’art contemporain de pointe.
 
La puissance de l’art est sa capacité à articuler les émotions humaines et des valeurs telles que la beauté et la vérité. Sur la montagne, face aux vues sublimes, le visiteur peut expérimenter ces œuvres d’art…complètement retiré de la galerie ou du musée, directement face à la vérité de la nature. C’est le vrai sens d’un musée sans murs.
– Paul Goodwin, Conservateur Verbier 3-D
 
Cette initiative sert comme centre créatif intégré dans la communauté et fait partie de la résurrection culturelle de Verbier, en suisse.
 
Office du tourisme de Verbier
Place centrale 2
1936 Verbier
+41 27 775 38 88 | info@verbier.ch
Heures d'ouverture :
Dès le 1er mai
8:00–12:00 / 13:00–17:30